Some facts about Estonia

Go down

Some facts about Estonia

Post  Lehte on Wed May 07, 2008 11:55 pm

e facts about Estonia

Official language estonian
Capital Tallinn
Area 45 226 km²
Population 1 342 409 (01.01.2007)
Government parlamentary republic
President Toomas Hendrik Ilves
Prime minister Andrus Ansip
Currency crown (EEK)
Time zone EET (UTC +2)
National anthem Mu isamaa, mu õnn ja rõõm

The Republic of Estonia is divided into fifteen counties (Maakonnad) which are the administrative subdivisions of the country. The first documented mentioning of Estonian political and administrative subdivisions comes from the Chronicle of Henry of Livonia, written in the 13th century during the Northern Crusades.

Estonia is a parliamentary, representative democratic republic. The Estonian political system operates under a framework laid out in the 1992 constitutional document. Estonia elects a legislature on the national level. The Riigikogu, exercising the legislative power , has 101 members, elected for a four year term by proportional representation. A head of state - the president - is elected for a five year term by parliament (1st-3rd round) or an electoral college (4th and subsequent rounds). Locally, Estonia elects local government councils, which vary in size, but by the election law there are minimum size of councils depending on the size of municipality. Local government councils are elected by proportional representation too.

The Estonian national flag is a rectangle which consists of three horizontal strips of color. The top one is blue, the middle one is black and the bottom one is white. The length and width relation is 7:11. The usual size of the flag is 105cm by 165cm.

Coat of arms of Estonia

There are currently 33 cities and several town-parish towns in the county. More than 70% of the entire population lives in the towns.
Estonia has been a member of the United Nations since 17 September 1991, of the European Union since 1 May 2004, and of NATO since 29 March 2004. Estonia has also signed the Kyoto protocol.
With only 1.3 million inhabitants, it comprises one of the smallest populations of the European Union countries.

The biggest cities in Estonia are:
Tallinn (403 500 inhabitants),
Tartu (101 169 inhabitants),
Narva (68 680 inhabitants)
Pärnu (45 000 inhabitants).
The span of Estonia from east to west is 350km and from north to south it's 240km

Tallinn is the capital and largest city of Estonia. It lies on the northern coast of Estonia, along the Gulf of Finland. The city is an important industrial, political and cultural center, and seaport.

Estonia boasts over 1,400 lakes. Most are very small, with the largest, Lake Peipus, (Peipsi in Estonian) being 3555 km² (1372 sq mi).
There are many rivers in the country. The largest are the Võhandu (162 km), Pärnu (144 km), and Põltsamaa (135 km).

The highest spot (318 meters from sea level) is Suur Munamägi in southern Estonia.
The main resources in Estonia are oil-shale, phosphorite , peat, clay, limestone, sand and dolomite.

Estonian national flower - Cornflower

Estonian national bird - Barn Swallow

National fish - herring

National rock - limestone

Kalevipoeg : an ancient Estonian tale


Posts : 3
Join date : 2008-05-07
Age : 59
Location : Rakvere Estonia

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Back to top

- Similar topics

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum